Tokyo Olympics medalists to receive their gov’t incentives next week

(From left) gold medalist Hidilyn Diaz, silver medalists Neshty Petecio and Carlo Paalam, and bronze medalist Eumir Marcial. {}

By Leobert Julian A. de la Peña

The four prized Tokyo Olympians who brought pride to the Philippines with their medal finishes will be receiving their incentives from the government on August 23, 2021.

The country’s first-ever gold medalist in the Olympics Hidilyn Diaz alongside boxers Carlo Paalam and Nesthy Petecio who grabbed silver medals and Eumir Marcial with bronze will be gracing the special event in Malacañang.

President Rodrigo Duterte will be headlining the special turnover ceremony and will be organized by the Office of the President assisted by the Philippine Sports Commission (PSC).

Aside from the incentives that they will be receiving from the government, the podium finishers already got the promised gifts sworn to them by private companies and organizations.

Tycoons Manny V. Pangilinan and Ramon S. Ang combined forces to add to what Pres. Duterte’s office will be giving.

Expected to grace the event are Philippine Olympic Committee President Abraham Tolentino and Secretary-General Ed Gastanes, Philippine Amusement and Gaming Corporation Chairperson Andrea Domingo, and Team Philippines Chef de Mission Nonong Araneta from Iloilo.

PSC Chairman William Ramirez, Commissioners Arnold Agustin, Ramon Fernandez, Celia Kiram, and Charles Maxey will also attend the event.

This is the country’s best finish in their Olympic history after locking in the 50th spot in the final point tally.

The record-setting 2021 Olympic run of the country also made them the best Southeast Asian performing country in Tokyo.