Term-sharing in LMP-Capiz presidency

(Photo Courtesy of Mambusao Lgu/Facebook)

By: Felipe V. Celino

ROXAS CITY, Capiz – After the hype and “trash talk,” the two contenders for the presidency of the League of the Municipalities (LMP)-Capiz chapter settled for a term-sharing scheme.

This as Mayor Leodegario Labao Jr. of Mambusao was elected president of the group during an election Friday last week.

Labao was unopposed as his touted rival, Mayor Receliste “Tanoy” Escolin of Pres. Roxas settled for the vice-presidency.

According to Escolin, the election was peaceful and smooth as the candidates were all unopposed.

Escolin said Labao will share the presidency with him after he declined to run against the outspoken Mambusao mayor.

The term sharing was reached after Capiz Governor Esteban Evan ‘’Nonoy’’ Contreras, 1st district Rep. Emmanuel ‘’Tawi’’ Billones Sr. and 2nd district Rep. Fredenil Castro met.

Escolin agreed to the arrangement after Labao assured him that he will not stay long as LMP president.

Aside from the agreement, Escolin said that he will abide by his promise to provide entertainment by bringing in movie personalities in every town fiesta of the 16 municipalities of Capiz.