PH Tokyo Paralympians set to receive additional cash allowance

William Ramirez and the PSC are showing full support to the PH Paralympians (

By Leobert Julian A. de la Peña

Each member of the Philippine delegation for the upcoming Tokyo Paralympics will be receiving an additional P100,000 cash allowance as they leave for Japan on August 22.

All members including the athletes, their coaches, and officials who will join the trip will be receiving the amount prepared by the Philippine Sports Commission (PSC).

According to PSC chairman William “Butch” Ramirez, the additional allowance is because of the high cost of living in Japan.

The country’s Paralympic team has 21 members to be exact including six athletes, six head coaches, two medical team members, PSC commissioner Arnold Agustin, three PSC admin members, Philippine Paralympic Committee president Mike Barredo, secretary-general Walter Torres, and chef de mission Francis Diaz.

Wheelchair racer Jerrold Mangliwan, swimmer Ernie Gawilan, discus thrower Jeanette Aceveda, swimmer Gary Bejino, taekwondo jin Allain Ganapin, and powerlifter Achelle Guion will banner the Philippines in the Tokyo Paralympics and are hoping to produce the same positive output as Hidilyn Diaz, Carlo Paalam, Nesthy Petecio, and Eumir Marcial after scoring podium finishes.

Mangliwan was tasked to carry the country’s colors in the Paralympics’ opening ceremony on August 24 while Gawilan will do the same in the closing ceremony.