Mighty Sports PH grab Jones Cup title

THE Philippines is the king of Jones Cup once more. (Handout photo)

By: Leobert Julian A. de la Peña

AFTER three years, the Mighty Sports PH are once again champions of the William Jones Cup after handling the Chinese Taipei Blue a demolition session, 97-74, at the Xinzhuang Gym in New Taipei on July 20, 2019.

Jones Cup relies on a win-based system. With the Philippine squad sporting a perfect record of 7 wins with no loss, they were automatically hailed as champions.

Mighty Sports did not have an easy win against Chinese Taipei Blue as the hot shooting host team swished every three-pointer they shot and was within striking distance in the first 15 minutes of the game, 36-40.

Things went the PH team’s way as Eugene Phelps, Renaldo Balkman, and McKenzie Moore blitzed the Chinese team with a 20-1 run to give the PHL squad a 50-32 halftime lead.

The PH squad continued to shoot the lights out as they demolished the Chinese team to grab the championship.



Mighty Sports 97 – Balkman 21, Phelps 17, Adams 13, Moore 10, Gray 8, Moore 8, Yeo 6, Graham 4, Black 3, Banal 3, Brickman 2, N’Diaye 2.

Chinese Taipei Blue 74 – Chen 19, Lee, C. 13, Florveus 8, Hu 7, Chou, Y. 7, Lin 6, Chou, P. 5, Liu 4, Kuo 3