Maayon mayor is new Capiz LMP head

The new League of the Municipalities of the Philippines-Capiz chapter officers led by Maayon Mayor Raymund Malapajo (6th from left) take their oath of office before Gov. Fredenil Castro(center). (Photo courtesy of CPGCG)

By Felipe V. Celino

ROXAS CITY, Capiz – Mayor Raymund “Mon-mon” Malapajo was elected president of the League of the Municipalities of the Philippines (LMP)-Capiz Chapter.

In an election held Wednesday morning at the Capiz Mansion in Brgy. Baybay here, Malapajo thanked the support and confidence extended to him by his fellow mayors in the province.

Malapajo who is now on his second term succeeded former Mambusao mayor and LMP president Leodegario Labao Jr.

Labao ran for congressman in the Second District of Capiz in the last election but lost to former Congresswoman Jane Castro.

The other LMP-Capiz officers were:

Vice Pres: Mateo Hachuela (Dumarao)

Secretary: Felipe Neri N. Yap (Ivisan)

Treasurer: Katherine D. Belo (Panitan)

Auditor: Maria Concepcion Castro (Dumalag)

PIO: Jose Villanueva (Sapian)



Henry Tumlos (Pontevedra)

Arnold Perez (Pilar)

Receliste Escolin (Pres. Roxas)

Mac Luces Valdemar (Jamindan)

The new officers immediately took their oath of office before Capiz Gov. Fredenil Castro.