Ilonggos dominate taekwondo tilt

Ilonggos take over 2019 National Age Group Taekwondo Championships (Mark V. Pinggol)

By: Leobert Julian A. de la Peña

Ilonggo taekwondo athletes once again impressed in the 2019 National Age Group Taekwondo Championships.

Out of 19 talented Ilonggo representatives, 16 were able to garner medals; 7 for gold, 3 silver, and 6 bronze medals.

Those who placed champion in the Kyorugi event were Sheine Nicole De Asis, Angela Joy Marie Bermejo, Kate Sheevanie Santocildes, Janna Lucelle Ledesma, and Jhed Anthony Morata.

Silver medalists were Niña Pearl Acosta, James Gabriel Dionio, and Virgilio Tenefrancia III.

Meanwhile, Quinn Rea Jimenez and Shernon Gabriel Galupar notched bronze medals.

For the Poomsae results, Julianna Martha Uy garnered gold in the Individual Elementary Blackbelt category, Shanen Anica Feranco got silver in the Junior Bluebelt category, Roivic John Decafe got Bronze in the Individual Cadet Blackbelt category together with Cyd Edryc Esmaña and Clyde Anthony Chua.

All athletes represent the Mark V. Pinggol (MVP) taekwondo gym of Iloilo.