GMA Network dominates 2019 Anak TV Awards

Leading broadcast company GMA Network dominated the annual Anak TV Awards in ceremonies held last December 5—earning a total of 37 Anak TV Seals for GMA 7, GMA News TV, and GMA Regional TV, with nine Kapuso personalities being named as the most admired nationwide.

Once again conferred the Anak TV Seal were GMA-7’s flagship newscasts 24 Oras; multi-awarded magazine show Kapuso Mo, Jessica Soho; longest-running morning show Unang Hirit; country’s pioneer environmental program Born To Be Wild; top-rating infotainment show AHA!; wellness program Pinoy MD; and pioneering public service program Wish Ko Lang.

Winning back-to-back Anak TV Seal awards, too, were hit family sitcom Pepito Manaloto; drama anthology Stories for the Soul; top-rating weekly fantasy anthology show Daig Kayo Ng Lola Ko; and award-winning infotainment show I-Bilib.

Earning an Anak TV Seal this year were investigative news magazine program Reporter’s Notebook; high-rating infotainment show Amazing Earth; well-loved comedy anthology Dear Uge; talk-variety show Sarap Di Ba?; weekly musical variety program Studio 7; and kiddie musical variety show Toppstar TV.

GMA News TV, on the other hand, received 12 Anak TV Seal awards for Ang Pinaka, Biyahe Ni Drew, Brigada, Day Off, Good News, Idol Sa Kusina, iJuander, Investigative Documentaries, Mars, News To Go, Poptalk, and Wagas.

GMA Regional TV (GMA RTV) continues to be lauded as a child-friendly regional channel as it took home eight Anak TV Seal honors this year. Once again earning the Anak TV Seal were local newscasts GMA Regional TV BalitangAmianan (North and Central Luzon); GMA Regional TV One Western Visayas; and GMA Regional TV One Mindanao (North, Central, and Southern Mindanao).

GMA RTV’s festival specials ‘Kapusosa Panagbenga: The GMA Regional TV BalitangAmianan Special Live Coverage’ and ‘Pit Senyor: The GMA Regional TV BalitangBisdak Special Live Coverage’ were also given the iconic Anak TV Seal anew. Joining them in sporting the much-coveted Anak TV Seal were ‘HalaBira! The GMA Regional TV One Western Visayas Dinagayang Festival Special Live Coverage’ and ‘KapusosaKadayawan: The GMA Regional TV One Mindanao Special Coverage’.

For the second time around, Byaheng Do30, which airs on Regional TV Mindanao stations, received an Anak TV Seal.

Meanwhile, Kapuso Primetime King and Queen Dingdong Dantes and Marian Rivera-Dantes were both elevated to the Makabata Hall of Fame. This is the first time that a real-life showbiz couple has been conferred such award. Joining them in the Hall of Fame was award-winning broadcast-journalist Kara David.

The three Kapuso personalities earned the award for having been chosen as the most admired, child-sensitive TV personalities nationwide for seven years.

Just like last year, earning the votes of the jury as Male Makabata Stars were multi-awarded comedian and content creator Michael V. and Asia’s Multi-Media Star Alden Richards.  Award-winning public affairs host Drew Arellano and broadcast journalist Atom Araullo were likewise voted as Male Makabata Stars.

Once again named as Female Makabata Stars were versatile Kapuso actress Bianca Umali and Phenomenal Star Maine Mendoza.

Various Kapuso programs were also selected as Top Household Favorites. These were Eat Bulaga; Kapuso Mo, Jessica Soho; Biyaheni Drew; and Pepito Manaloto.

Every year, Anak TV confers the iconic Anak TV seal on programs and personalities, as determined by adult jurors from various sectors representing different geographic areas of the country. To sport the Anak TV seal means a program is wholesome and child-safe while being named a Makabata Star means that a TV personality is worthy to be emulated by the youth.
[modula id=”154978″]