DLSU Lady Spikers complete Shakey’s Super League participants

The DLSU Lady Spikers are joining the Shakey’s Volleyball Super League. (UAAP photo)

By Leobert Julian A. de la Peña

The De La Salle University (DLSU) Lady Spikers completed the 18-team cast of the returning Shakey’s Volleyball Super League.

Coming off a second-place finish during the UAAP Season 84 women’s volleyball tournament after falling short against the stacked National University (NU) Lady Bulldogs, the Lady Spikers will be fielding the same core that helped them reach the grand finals.

Leading the women in green and white are Fifi Sharma, Jolina dela Cruz, Leila Cruz, Leiah Malaluan, Thea Gagate, and Mars Alba.

The Lady Spikers will be going up against eight UAAP and 10 NCAA teams for the prestigious Shakey’s Super League title.

“For the first time in the history of Philippine volleyball, we have all 10 NCAA teams and all eight UAAP squads coming together under one roof as Shakey’s continues to play its role in amateur grassroots, collegiate student-based sports,” said Shakey’s president and CEO Vicente Gregorio.

DLSU will join the stacked group D composed of the reigning NCAA defending champion Saint Benilde, Letran, and the Far Eastern University (FEU).

There will be a total of four groups in the Shakey’s Volleyball League. The top two teams from each group will then advance to the next round in another round-robin format.

The teams who will top the round-robin will then determine their fate in the knockout quarterfinals including their playoff ranking.

“This is our group’s humble contribution to further improve the sports of volleyball in the country,” added Mr. Gregorio.