City Hall recognizes MORE as new distributor

MORE Power president and COO Roel Castro (left) discusses with Iloilo City Mayor Jerry Treñas (center) and Executive Assistant Francis Cruz their company’s plans for the distribution services. (Photo by Arnold Almacen/CMO)

By Emme Rose Santiagudo

The local government has recognized MORE Electric and Power Corp. (MORE Power) as the new power distributor in Iloilo City thereby, replacing the 96-year-old Panay Electric Co., Inc. (PECO).
Ang nagapdalagan na subong ang MORE Power. Ang akon lang considering na nagsaylo na ang operations sa MORE effective February 29, then we have to recognize that MORE is already running the power distribution,” Mayor Jerry Treñas said on Monday.

The mayor said the takeover of MORE Power was backed by the writ of possession issued by the court which will now determine the fair market value of PECO assets.

“The city will be paying MORE Power since it is already running the city and the metro will have to transact and negotiate with MORE Power. This by virtue of the court who issued the writ of possession,” Treñas said.

All the other legal issues pertaining to the two parties will have to be resolved by the court particularly the Court of Appeals (CA), he added.

On Monday, the mayor visited the Customer Care Services Office of MORE Power in General St. in City Proper district.

MORE Power held the soft launching of its Customer Care Services Office after announcing that it has commenced the bill cut-off and meter reading on February 29, 2020. This followed the implementation of the court-issued writ of possession (WOP) on Friday.

MORE Power CEO and President Roel Castro said they have effectively taken over control of all the substations and distribution facilities.

Castro they have responded to 39 inquiries from residents since Saturday.

“We responded to their needs and calls. We also commenced the change of some of the old meters of the customers,” he said.

MORE Power was granted with a franchise through Republic Act 11212, signed into law by President Rodrigo Duterte on Feb 14, 2019.