15 cops awarded for arresting alleged rebels

Police Brigadier General Rene Pamuspusan, regional director of Police Regional Office (PRO)-6, pins a medal on one of the 16 police awardees during the awarding rites held at Negros Occidental Police Provincial Office (Nocppo) headquarters in Bacolod City Monday. (Photo courtesy of Negros Occidental Police Provincial Office)

By: Glazyl Y. Masculino

BACOLOD City – Fifteen police officers in Negros Occidental received Philippine National Police (PNP) merit medals last Monday for the arrest of eight alleged members of the New People’s Army (NPA) in Escalante City last September 18.

The awardees were:

  • Police Lieutenant Colonel Arnel Solis, commander of 1st platoon, Negros Occidental Provincial Mobile Force Company (Nocpmfc),
  • Police Major Gil John Despi, chief of Escalante City Police Station,
  • Police Chief Master Sergeant Esperidion Canillo Jr.,
  • Police Master Sergeant Jester Minguez,
  • Police Staff Sergeants John Candelario, and Romel Aguilar,
  • Police Corporals Eric Ignacio, Nelson Marino Jr., Ronilo Jabaybay, Ismael Mag-alasin Jr., Alberto De La Cruz Jr., Glend Mahinay, Demetrio Gruta Brillantes, and Xander Barrios, and Patrolman Carl Mark Delfin.

The awarding rites led by Police Brigadier General Rene Pamuspusan, regional director of Police Regional Office (PRO)-6, and Police Colonel Romeo Baleros, director of Negros Occidental Police Provincial Office (Nocppo) was held at the Nocppo headquarters here.

The awardees were personnel of the 1st platoon of the Nocpmfc and Escalante City Police Station, who led the checkpoint operations at Barangay Jonob-Jonob, Escalante City, which resulted in the arrest of eight persons, including a minor who were believed to be members of the Northern Negros Front -Komiteng Rehiyon of the NPA

Two of the eight persons were spokespersons of National Federation of Sugar Workers (NFSW).

They were intercepted after police received information from former rebels about their alleged plan to commit atrocities during the mass surrender of thousands of former rebels during the three-day peace summit held during the commemoration of the 34th Escalante massacre last September 20.

These policemen have earned credit and honor not only for themselves but also for the entire police organization, Baleros said.

Meanwhile, Patrolman John Igmedio Javier, a personnel of the Regional Mobile Force Battalion (RMFB)-6 who was wounded in a clash with suspected NPA at Sitio Basak, Barangay Tan-awan, Kabankalan City last October 9, was also awarded the PNP wounded personnel medal.

He showed bravery and conspicuous courage despite being wounded during the encounter.